LETTER FROM A TRANSSEXUAL IRANIAN MAN.

The UNHCR office in Ankara, Turkey

Name and surname of refugee: Mehtap Mirgadiri

UNCHR Ankara file no : 07C2252
Re: MY OBJECTION TO MY ASYLUM REFUSAL

Dear  Authorities ,
My name is Seyedeh Mahtab Mirghaderi. I left Iran 3 years ago because of the conditions which risked my life. When I came to Turkey I applied to the UNHCR in Ankara, with the request of to be recognized as a refugee.

I am a transsexual and everybody knows how the transsexuals are treated in Iran. I was born in a conservative and very radical family. I experienced pain on daily basis and had many difficulties. My family did not accept my girlish behaviors. I was punished in many different ways; humiliating, beating, swearing, insulting, or giving me no food. When I remember those days that I was suffering from my family members, I still feel the impact of their cruel behaviors.
 

When I became an adult, I learned that killing someone like me regarded as a duty in that conservative and radical society. I lived in that society and I was exposed to torture, oppression and violence everyday. I was beaten many times, despised always and tortured couple of times. I was considered against the Islamic doctrines thus regarded as immoral and dishonor in the Islamic society.

I thought if have an operation to change my gender then my life could be easier in a female body. But it did not happen as I was thinking. Especially, my family threatened me to kill. They could not tolerate their son to be a female. What I am telling you here is not a joke or exaggeration. A friend of mine, who is also transsexual, was poisoned by her family. They did not accept their son to be a female. I had to leave my family in order not to be killed. I had a surgical operation in a place that there were no the hygiene and with the minimum operational equipment. I had to have that operation because I had not good financial situation and I had no other support.

There was no one that I could stay with. I became a female after struggling for years and changed my gender into female on my identity card. I was in the middle of no where; I had neither family nor a shelter to stay. I spent all my days about what to do: my family wanted to kill me if they knew where I was staying, fundamental radical society was not better than my family, actually worse then them, they were ready to beat me, torture me and kill me and I had no shelter to stay. I was a victim as a transsexual and I even accepted some immoral proposals in order to eat some food and spent the night under a roof. When irregular armed forces and policemen saw me alone they also abused me. Neither my family nor any institution protected me. Despite all these problems a man liked me and I liked him too. After his family learned that I am a transsexual they threatened to kill me. They wanted me to leave their son alone. But, we wanted to be together. Since we were not able to live under those conditions in Iran, we left from Iran and came to Turkey. We did not have any other choice.

My life was in great danger because of; my husband’s family, my family, policemen, the conservative and radical society, the civil militias, and the irregular armed forces. There was a man who liked me and wanted to be with me, but because of me, his life was also in great danger in Iran. I had to leave my country even though I did not want leave. I applied to the UNHCR office with the hope that I would be recognized as a refugee in the near future. At the first interview I was the only one who was questioned. I also gave information about my husband. After 8 months they wanted to have both of us for the second interview. Our lawyer who was assigned to our file left his position at the UNHCR. Eight months later when we reached the UNHCR again we were told that it was assumed that we left from Turkey to Iran. That was the reason they said that why we were not called.

We went to a new interview. For that interview I requested a female lawyer and a female translator. I also explained that the sarcastic behaviors of male lawyers and translators which put me in stress and being mocked by even one of the UNHCR lawyers were not nice. Under that kind of situation I was not able to concentrate or focus on the questions. But my request was not accepted and I had again a very bad interview experience. I was not able to answer the questions because I was not able to focus, they just confused me. And, my asylum claim was again rejected.

Eventually, we prepared an appeal letter explaining the risk that we faced in Iran and additionally we explained how the life can be very difficult for a transsexual person in Iran. We wanted our file to be reevaluated and to be accepted. Even though, we told our problems and my female lawyer had couple of tears in her eyes during the interview after hearing the cruelty that I had to endure. Unfortunately, we were again rejected.

I object to your decision as a transsexual who had to leave this country because of experiencing difficulties and the only thing I wish from the UNHCR is to answer questions by taking responsibility. Why did not UN, which accepts thousands refugees who are transsexuals like me and their life is at risk, accept me? If I go back to Iran my family and my husband’s family and radical conservative society or irregular armed force will kill me, and who will be responsible for my death? How can I cope with these forces as a transsexual without being under protection of my family?

What, I want from the UNHCR Authorities is, that my case to be reopened and processed again with my objection and giving me right of defense, saving me from difficult condition and ambiguity.

Thank you from now on for your help,
Yours sincerely
Mehtap Mirgadiri

یسریای عالی پناهندگان سازمان ملل متحد – ژنو – سوئیس

رونوشت: دفتر سازمان در آنکارا

 اینجانب مهتاب میرقادری سه سال پیش به دلیل شرایط بسیار سختی که جانم را به طور جدی در خطر قرار داده بود ایران راترک کرده و به کمیساریای عالی پناهندگان واقع در ترکیه در شهر انکارا در خواست پناهندگی ارائه نمودم.

من یک ترنسجندر هستم. امروز بر کسی پوشیده نیست و همه در اقصا نقاط جهان از وضعیت سخت  اقلیتهای جنسی در ایران مطلع هستند تا جایی که رییس دولت ایران در مقابل خبرنگاران خارجی و رسانه های بین المللی منکر وجود ما در ایران می شود. ولی مشکل اساسی افرادی مثل من ازجامعه کور و متعصب و خانواده های متعصب ایرانی شروع میشود. من که خود در یک خانواده مذهبی و متوسط ایرانی بدنیا امده ام تلخی روزهای بسیار سختی را تجربه کرده ام، خانواده ای که از دوران کودکی رفتارهای دخترانه مرا علی رغم جنسیت ظاهریم مایه شرم خود میدانست. هنوز اثرات روخی تنبیهات سخت  بدنی و لفظی که توسط برادر بزرگم و دیگر اعضای خانواده به من شده در روحم باقی است.

وقتی بزرگتر شدم و پا به عرصه اجتماع گذاشتم این افراد متعصب و مذهبی جامعه بودند که به تبع فتاوی بعضی از مراجع دینی خود من و امثال من را افرادی هوس باز دانسته و ریختن خون ما را جزو فرایض دینی خود می دانستند، تقریبا هیچ روز از زندگی گذشته را بیاد ندارم که از اذیت، ازار و تمسخر این جامعه متعصب در امان بوده باشم. بارها توسط انها تا سر حد مرگ ضرب وشتم شدم.  با رها از زبانشان تهدید یه مرگ گردیدم انها مرا لکه ننگی بر پیشانی جامعه اسلامی می دانستند.

گمان کردم با عمل تغییر جنسیت و حضور در غالبی زنانه می توانم زندگی ارامی را در پیش بگیرم. اما مشکلات صد چندان شد. اول خانواده متعصب خودم که مرا تهدید به مرگ کردند زیرا پذیرش این شرم که پسرشان دختر شود برایشان امکان پذیر نبود. این نه شوخی است و نه اقراق، من دوستی در ایران داشتم که مشکل مشابه من را داشت، خانوادهاش حاضر شدند او را مسموم کرده و بکشند که این لکه ننگ از خانواده پاک کنند.

من مجبور به ترک خانه شدم و به دلیل شرایط بد مالی در پنهان و به دور از چشم خانواده به تیغ جراحی و عملی ناقص در بدترین شرایط بهداشتی و امکانات پزشکی تن سپردم. و به تعبیری زیر تیغ جراحی پزشکی پول دوست و از خدا بی خبر سلاخی شدم و بعد هم هیچ مرجعی نبود که به دادم رسیدگی کند و نه خانواده ای که پناهم باشد. حالا ظاهرا دختر شده بودم دختری که پس از چند سالی دوندگی در انتهای شناسنامه اش تغییر جنسیتش درج شده بود. دختری که نه خانه ای داشت و نه خانواده ای و هر روز را از ترس ان شب می کرد که خانواده اش از محل اختفایش با خبر شده و جانش را بگیرند.

ترس از جامعه دینی متعصی که اگر متوجه تغییر جنسیت من میشدند هر نوع اذیت و ازار جسمی و لفظی را بر من روا می دانستند و حالا بک تغییر جنسیت داده تنها و بی خانمان بهترین طعمه بودم برای انها که انحراف اخلاقی و جنسی داشتند و من بی پناه مجبور بودم برای مسکنی یا غذایی به خواسته های غیر معقولشان تن دهم. از سوی دیکر ماموران پلیس و بسیج وقتی از وضعیتم با خبر میشدند و مرا تنها سر گردان می یافتند ضمن دستگیر کردن مورد اذیت و ازار جنسی قرارم میدادنند و هیچ قانون و خانوادهای نبود که از من دفاع کند.

در میان انبوه ناملایمات حضور پسری که به او دل پستم تنها خوشی زندگیم بود که خانواده او نیز پس از کشف ارتباط ما مرا تهدید به مرگ کردند تا زندگی پسرشان را ترک کنم. من که می خواستم در کنار او باشم و او نیز که تصمیم گرفته بود با من بماند راه چارهای نداشتیم جز ترک وطن. جان من از طرف خانواده خودم، خانواده همسرم، مرمان متعصب کشورم و نیروهای امنیتی خود سر در معرض تهدید بود و حالا پسری که با من قصد همراهی داشت او هم در خطر همه این تهدید ها بود. پس علرغم میل باطنی وطنم را ترک کردم و به امید سر پناهی به سازمان ملل پناه جستم.

پس از مصاحبه اول  که خود تنهایی در ان حضور داشتم موضوع پسر مورد علاقه و همراهم را مطرح کردم و قرار شد برای مصاحبه به اتفاق هم 8 ماه بعد دوباره در دفترکمساریای پناهندگان حاضر شویم. پس از مصاحبه مشترک به دلیل انکه وکیل پرونده مان کارش را ترک کرد بود پرونده مان بلا تکلیف ماند بعد 8 ماه ما را خواستند و ضمن عذر خواهی از بابت تاخیر 8 ماه گفتند که به ما اطلاع داده بودند شما خاک تر کیه را ترک کرده اید و ما از پیگیری مستمر خودتان فهمیدیم هنوز در خاک ترکیه هستید. و ما که دو سال را به خاطر یک گذارش غلط در بدترین شرایط مالی اجتماعی و زندگی بسر برده بودیم بالاجبار یک عذر خواهی ساده را پذیرفتیم و در مصاحبه دیگری حاضر شدیم.

علارغم در خواست من وکیل و مترجم پرونده مرد بودند که نگاههای ازار دهنده شخص مترجم و بعضا حرفهای تمسخر کننده و داوری کننده او ذهن مرا اشفته کرده بود پس از این مصاحبه و شرایط بد ان کمیساریای عالی پناهندگان با در نظر نگرفتن موضوع اصلی پرونده که وضعیت یک فرد ترنسجندر مثل من و خطراتی  که  حیات اجتماعی و جانی او را تهدید می کند فقط بدلیل پاره ای تناقضات جزئی بین گفته های من و همسرم ما را رد کردند. ما طی نامه ای با بیان کلیه ادله ای که جان من و به طبع ان همسرم را در ایران تهدید می کند و من نمی توانم بدلیل مشکلم کار، سر پناه و زندگی و حیات داشته باشم و بیان دلیل برای تناقضات خواستار استیناف در پرونده شدیم. به طبع ان پس از11 ماه برای مصاحبه دیگری در دفتر کمیساریای پناهندگان حاضر شدیم پس از ان با وجود بیان همه مشکلات نامه عدم قبولی در یافت کردیم.

اینجانب به عنوان یک ترنسجندر گریخته از وطن ضمن شکایت نسبت به تصمیم اتخاذ شذه توسط ان کمیساریا خواستارم که ان کمیساریا در مقابل جان و زندگی من به عنوان یک بشر احساس مسولیت کرده و به سوالات زیر پاسخ بدهد.

1-اگر هیچ مشکل جانی مرا تهدید نمی کند پس حضوربیش از صدها پناهنده ترنسجندر در خارج از خاک ایران که خیلی از انان از همین کمیساریا برگه پناهندگی گرفته اند چه توجیه منطقی دارد

2-اگر من به وطن باز گردم و توسط یکی از گروهای زیر یعنی خانواده خودم یا گروهای متعصب مذهبی جامعه و یا خانواده پسری که من را مسبب تخریب زندگی فرزندشان می دانند و یا نیروهای امنیتی خود سر در داخل کشور کشته شوم چه کسی پاسخ گوی خون من خواهد بود

3-در شرایط فعلی که حتی جوانان معمولی با وجود حمایت خانواده هایشان از دستگیری و تجاوز توسط نیروهای خود سر و لباس شخصی در امان نیستند چگونه جان من ترنسجندر که در اقلیت اجتماع بوده و از حمایت خانواده نیز بی بهره ام در امان خواهد بود

در پایان ضمن بیان این مطلب که جزییات مربوط به ازارها و اذیتهای وارده بر من در پرونده بنده و همسرم موجود می باشد و در صورت لزوم من امادگی ارائه جزییات بیشتری را نیز دارم. از ان مقام محترم خواستارم که ضمن پیگیری شکایت بنده ضمینه مساعد را در باز گشایی مجدد پرونده اینجانب و ارائه پاسخی منطقی و در خور فراهم اورید و مرا از این وضعیت بلا تکلیفی بی خانماننی و بی پولی در خاک ترکیه بعد از گذشت سه سال نجات داده و  با اتخاذ تصمیمی صحیح جان یک بی پناه را از نابودی حتمی نجات دهید

با تشکر

مهتاب میر قادری

 

One response to “LETTER FROM A TRANSSEXUAL IRANIAN MAN.

  1. man mahtab mirghaderi hastam va mikhastam bedonam matlabe man ba ejazeye che kasi dar in sayt chap shode?

Leave a Reply

